Thai Style Cabbage Salad

vscocam149

Sometimes serendipity, just like creativity, is born out of confinement.  Such was the case of my lucky dessert yesterday.  I was craving a good creamy bowl of yogurt, but was out.  I thought about making some but didn’t want to wait 8 hours and then remembered I’d need a little yogurt to start with in order to make more anyway. Lately I’ve been finding it hard to come across plain full fat yogurt at your average supermarket.  There are either flavored ones or plain ones with 0% fat, which to me taste too bitter.  I perused the refrigerator and came across some nice whole ricotta.  I decided to combine a small portion with some Dutch cocoa, chia seeds and a drizzle of honey.  Boom!  It was so creamy and perfect. Often when I experiment like that, I end up shrugging my shoulders and giving myself an A for effort while quickly tossing the creation in the garbage, but yesterday was lucky and the dessert satisfied my craving.

The eponymous salad of today’s post was also fortuitous to a similar degree.  I had a large bag of carrots on hand and had been wanting to try a Thai-inspired dish.  What I was really thinking about was this beautiful meal of duck with peanut sauce that I ate at a Thai restaurant once, but I definitely did not have a duck sitting in the kitchen.  This salad had to suffice and it did so wonderfully.  It was so refreshing and tasty and nutrient-packed.  I could eat bowls of it.

Thai Style Cabbage Salad with Peanut-Carrot Spread and Beets

Ingredients

6 large carrots, peeled
1 head green cabbage
4 beets, boiled and sliced
2 limes
1/2 cup peanuts
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1 knob of ginger (about 2 inches long)
2 tbsp hot sauce
1/2 tsp turmeric
vscocam148

vscocam147
Blend the carrots in a food processor until they are coarsely chopped. Chop the ginger and add it. Squeeze in the juice of two limes and add the peanuts, vinegar and hot sauce.  Blend till everything is combined.
Cut the cabbage until shredded. Lay the sliced beets on the cabbage and give the salad a good dollup of the carrot spread. Sprinkle with turmeric. Enjoy!

Serves 6

The carrot spread is great to make by itself and use as a dip for other vegetables.
vscocam150

Leave a Reply

