Rosemary Lamb Sausage with Purple Applesauce

Weekends are good for making bulk batches of food to have on hand for the rest of the week when time is short, but this implies that the kitchen is already well-stocked to meet your culinary needs. Not so in my case, and I had to scour the fridge just to find something for today. I came up with the last of my leeks and brussels sprouts, a head of red cabbage, and some fruit. The freezer procured a single lamb sausage with rosemary and oregano that I had been gifted with over the past weekend. Put together, I had a veritable feast. I had been waiting for a special occasion to eat the lamb sausage, and today just happens to be the birthday of my host “mother” in Lebanon.  Perfect.  Happiest of birthdays, dear Gladys! I wish I could transport myself to your kitchen to celebrate with you now.
vscocam108

I cooked the lamb in the frying pan alongside the leeks and brussels sprouts, which needed no seasoning apart from the juices that sizzled from the lamb. For a side dish, I prepared one of my very favorite comfort foods, a simple dish that I first tasted in the home of my neighbors from Belgium and have not stopped making since.

Purple Applesauce

Ingredients

2 heads red cabbage, shredded
3 apples, peeled and chopped (I use gala or fuji or pink lady)
2 bosc pears, peeled and chopped
3/4 cup water

vscocam109

Place the cabbage and water in a large pot and cook on low heat for about 30 minutes. Add the apples and pears and stir. Place the lid on the pot and cook on low until the cabbage, apples and pears are soft. Use an immersion blender or food processor to bring everything to an applesauce-like consistency.  Red cabbage has a gorgeous color which becomes a deep purple as it cooks.  Enjoy!

Serves at least 6

vscocam101

Leave a Reply

